10 Reasons I Look Forward to Going Back to School

Look Forward to School

Copyright Leonora Enking – Creative Common Licence

10. New school supplies

9. The classroom is a platform to advocate for justice (even though my professors warned me not to use it that way)

8. Working with people that care about more than the number on their direct deposit statement

7. Picture Books (duh!)

6. I get paid to read to children

5. I get paid to listen to children read

4. The stack of pictures my students draw for me every day

3. The light in the eyes of a child when they burst out, “I can read!”

2. Parents who say, “Thank you!” (sometimes through their tears)

1. Notes from my students that say, “I luv u!”

2 thoughts on “10 Reasons I Look Forward to Going Back to School

    • Yeah, it’s a big deal (and could have been higher on the list). I thought it very odd that my professors told me not to use my classroom to advocate for causes, because by telling me not to advocate for my causes, they were advocating for theirs (the status quo).

Leave a Reply

